Unfortunately it's not always possible to delete your account, and if you do delete your account, you may not be able to make a new one in the future.
You can delete your Cuvva account by speaking to our customer support team, as long as you haven't yet bought an insurance policy with us.
How to delete your account
To delete your account, just contact our customer support team in the app. They're available 6am to 1am.
Once they’ve removed your account, just log out of the app to complete the process.
We won’t remove all of your data
When we delete your account, we won’t remove all of your data from our systems.
As we explain in our privacy notice, we’ll archive your Cuvva account ID, name, email address, chat history, date of birth, any legal terms you’ve agreed to, and any quotes that we’ve given you.
Even though we don’t fully remove customer data when deleting accounts, we’ll make sure that it’s put beyond use.
This means that we’ll only ever access your information if we have to (for example, if we’re asked to comply with a court order). And apart from the engineers who would need to deal with this kind of request, none of our team are able to access your data.
If you’ve bought insurance with us, we can’t delete your account straight away
However, if you've bought a Cuvva policy in the past, we can’t delete your account straight away.
That’s because car insurance is a regulated financial product, and we’re regulated by the Financial Conduct Authority (FCA).
All of these things can happen several years after a customer buys insurance.
This is in line with GDPR. The “right to erasure” isn’t absolute, and there are exceptions where data is still needed, like keeping insurance records in the case of any claims.
We need to make sure that we can help you, and comply with legal requirements, if that’s ever needed in the future.
Using Cuvva again after deleting your account
If you want to come back to Cuvva, you should be able to do so. Just download the app and make a new account.
But we can’t always guarantee that. Sometimes, deleting your account can mean you won’t be able to make a new one later on. But if that’s the case, we’ll let you know before we remove your account.
You can find out more about how we store your details in our privacy notice.
Happy driving! 🚗